Life's Journey

By AndrewFyfe

Westgate, Canterbury

Dover - Shetlands Day 1.
Distance cycled: 12km (estimated)
Ascent: unknown (minimal)

Highlight: lamb stew made with with citrus & coriander for dinner in Cafe des Anis, Canterbury

Lowlight: trains from London being cancelled, diverted, terminated or turned into buses thwarting multiple attempts to reach my trip start point of Dover. I eventually made Canterbury, where I decided to give in and check into my pre-booked AirBnB, rather than face the prospect of cycling in the dark..

Anything else? Early start tomorrow to catch train to Dover to really start the trip. It will make for a long day of ca. 120km to reach East Grinstead (where I have booked an AirBnB room) via Tunbridge Wells.

Photo: an impressive remnant of Canterbury's city wall, past which I walked ever day during the final year of the 70s when I lived here whilst working in a bank as part of a sponsored finance degree, between school and university. Late change of tack saw me graduate as an engineer instead.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.