43 Years Ago...

I've told this story WAY too many times, but...

The story actually started 46 years ago, when I was a junior in high school. I asked a cute little girl named Lisa to go to the junior-senior prom, and she said yes. Lisa looked stunning in white, but don't look too close at my outfit. (It's the pants...were we expecting a flood?)

The next May, I was a senior, and Lisa was a junior. Again, she looked stunning in yellow (plus, she lost the glasses), and I was wearing velour. I WAS WEARING VELOUR!! Plus, I put a little Sun-in in my longer hair.

The next May, I was in college, but Lisa was still a senior in high school. You'll notice I don't have a picture included of that year. Lisa looked stunning in baby blue, and again I wore velour...blue this time. But...the jacket was 4 sizes TOO BIG, and the formal place didn't have another size for me. I spent the entire night sounding like Rodney Dangerfield. "How ya doin Tim?" "I'm great, but my jacket is 8 sizes too big."

Now, to the good part. The next May rolled around, and we had no place to go, nothing to get dressed up for. "Honey, I need to wear another funny suit...you just wanna get married?"

What can I say? I'm a romantic kind of guy. (Not!) Again, Lisa looks stunning (and very bridal), in traditional white, and I decided to save money on my tuxedo by wearing a coat made out of my grandma's kitchen curtains. (Not really!) Also, the sideburns kept growing. (During the reception, my great-grandma asked me to shave them off.)

43 (or 46) years is a good long time. I'm not sure we have all the secrets, but I do know one. Love conquers all. (Plus, from my point of view...you just have to pick a wonderful partner.)

The sad part of our wedding picture? 3 out of four of our parents are gone. The only one left is my Dad.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.