The Travellist's journal

By TheTravellist

Daintree & Cairns

I did a few walks around the rainforest using the boardwalks. It's very dense and humid. I saw a massive spider (see the extra photo). I was constantly on the look-out for a big colourful bird called a cassowary which I'd actually never heard of being. There are road signs everywhere to get you to slow down in areas where they might cross the road. Unfortunately I didn't get to see one.

I drove to Port Douglas where I used the showers at a campsite (for $3) and had a cheap curry for lunch. I wanted to stay overnight in the area but everything was so expensive so I ended up driving down to Cairns and booked in to a three-person hostel dorm. I met my two room mates, Gaai and Jonas, but it was late so there wasn't time for much else.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.