Flower Friday : : Glass

The weather is changing again.  Gusts of wind blow puffy white clouds across the sky. Every time the sun goes behind a cloud, the temperature drops along with the light. Sitting outside for  coffee with a couple of friends involved a constant dance of sunglasses and sweatshirts on and off. I used to discuss the state of the world with friends over coffee, but these days the state of the world seems almost beyond contemplation. The three of us have all moved here fairly recently and all of us have large and challenging gardens, so we let somebody else deal with the global problems and concentrated on the state of our gardens. 

My own garden is bursting with blooms, thanks to OilMan's toils, and finding a good flower picture shouldn't have been too difficult, except for the gusts of wind and the ever changing light. I cut a handful of stems and brought it all inside where the light was still a challenge but the air was still.

I am always telling OilMan that he spends too much time thinking about what he is going to do next and not enough time thinking about what he is actually doing. This is just another variation on the "be in the moment'" theme  I am always preaching, but as I sat playing with flowers and my camera and the light, I realized that I really was in the moment,  Admittedly I was doing things I enjoy, but in the process I had let go of the myriad things that are usually scuttling around in my head and was experiencing the moment not just thinking about it. Now here's the zen thing…the moment I had my little epiphany, I was no longer in the moment….Sometimes understanding what we believe comes in baby steps….

Choosing today's shot was difficult, but in the end, I chose the roses in OilMan's grandmother's cranberry glass bowl. These are bush roses (the same ones the deer ate from the bushes in the unfenced front of the house) and resist being "arranged". I think it is a nice illustration of the fact that it can be an epiphany to realize that "letting go" can also mean not trying so hard.

I have a favorite print by Sister Corita Kent with a representation of flowers, or perhaps hearts, or maybe both, that says after ecstasy, the laundry….

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.