Oldgroaners Phone&Compact

By Oldgroaner

Boats on the Slip at Sennen Cove

The weather has been dull, foggy and wet here, but a little better at Sennen Cove, thankfully.
Whenever we come here I remember being approached by a German Couple coming off a tour bus, and the man came over and asked..
"Is this the end of England?"
With an effort I kept a straight face and replied.
"I believe you mean Land's End" and pointed to the coastwatch hut on the hilltop beyond the Harbour.
"if you go up there, you can see Land's End and it's quite an easy walk if you decide to visit."
They thanked me and when they were far enough away not to hear I had a good chuckle, thinking of all the possible replies my Father would have come up with to the question "Is this the end of England?" coming from a German.
When I related the incident to my Austrian brother in law, he laughed too!
It's good that we have got to the stage when the past merely causes a smile rather than a scowl.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.