Ovenbird Singing

With our Vermont friends we went for an organized bird walk this morning in Mills Riverside Park, Jericho (near Underhill).  A large number showed up, with a fair number of relative beginners. So  we split up. Most of the birds were audible, not visible--most tantalizing were ovenbird, whose loud "teacher, teacher" song we heard nearly constantly in one place or another.  Only near the end did I stay behind and walk off the path toward a song did I finally see this bird.  He stayed for at least five minutes while I moved for a good angle, and was still singing as I left.

After I rejoined Marylee, Pat and Tif,  we saw our first common yellowthroat; just as I got my lens on him and started shooting continuously he flew, resulting in the two images which I'm putting up as extras--they're not sharp, but fun!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.