Annie's In Oregon

By anniescottage

Gratitude

Four years ago a special friend of my husband passed away. We had been married around seven years by that time. She was an elderly woman who had built a little Breakfast Barn restaurant in the harbor town of Charleston with her husband. Their granddaughter and her husband reopened the restaurant a few years ago as "Nonnie's Breakfast Barn" (Nonnie being what her granddaughter called her) with the giant word BACON visible on the roof from the bridge into town.

They cut and cure their own premium bacon, and were having a grand "free bacon" event, with their new dinner menu and later hours. We arrived at the end of a satisfying day, and sat at the old fashioned diner style counter chatting with Paul's friend and "Nonnie's" widower.

After all this time, his granddaughter remembered something and left the kitchen to retrieve a mug, which she brought to our dinner companion, who gave it to me, as he told me that Nonnie had insisted they get it for me before she passed away. It brought a tear to my eye as I read:

Anne: Meaning Gracious

You're so appreciative
Of what life provides
That your deep sense
Of gratitude never subsides.
Within your heart
There is always a place
To express thanks to others
For their help and grace.
Because of the kindness
That you show each day,
Many wonderful things
Will keep coming your way.

Gratitude has not always been my strong suit. But I do want to practice it more every day. This has been a day...an entire week, for which I am very grateful.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.