The Travellist's journal

By TheTravellist

SS Yongala

I had been recommended a shipwreck dive just off the coast near Townsville. I arrived at the dive centre 7.30am to fill in all the paperwork and go through the briefings. It was only a small boat with around 10 people. The SS Yongala sank in 1911 during a cyclone but wasn't found until 1958. The wreck is now hope to a life of marine life, especially as there aren't any reefs nearby. We had two dives; the first wasn't particularly special as the visibility wasn't great, but on the second dive we were treated to a rare sight of at least one manta ray.

Some of the staff had been coming to this site daily for months and had never seen one. I had been lucky enough to see many of them in Indonesia last year, but it was still an awesome experience.

The photo quality is pretty bad but I made a video with footage from my GoPro.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.