The Travellist's journal

By TheTravellist

Platypus

I got up early and drove the rest of the way to Eungella National Park, arriving around 9am. I headed for Broken River where it's possible to see platypus. I spoke to the owner of the cafe next to the river and he said that although the best times for viewings is from dusk 'til dawn, it's still possible to see them during the day if you're patient.

I'd driven quite far out of my way, so I was determined to see at least one. However, I had quite far to drive, so I couldn't wait all day. There were three viewing platforms and I shared my time between each one, occasionally seeing other tourists but I was mostly on my own. There were lots of turtles in the river, so I kept seeing movement and being disappointed. After two hours, I saw something on the other side of the river and it moved a lot faster than the turtles but it was too far and too small to be sure what it was. I took a photo and zoomed in... it was definitely a platypus!

I waited patiently as it repeatedly dived to the bottom, presumably for food, and gradually moved towards me. I watched it for about 10 minutes and it ended up right by me. It was much smaller than I imagined, although apparently the platypus down in Tasmania are much larger. It's amazing how symmetrical they are!

I stayed at a free campsite that is basically the carpark behind a BP station. Staff kindly let campers use the toilets and showers for free.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.