Beauty is all around us.

By Grace55

Rosa pimpinellifolia: Scots Rose.

This exquisite deep pink rose grows freely along some parts of the canal tow path. The leaves are remarkable, and unfold very beautifully.
These leaves have five to eleven heavily serrated and broadly oval leaflets per leaf, as the book says. There are thorns so take care if you find one of these great shrubs.
I looked it up in my pocket Gardening Encyclopedia, as in my ignorance, I had always seen it as a lovely wild rose, discovering it at this time of year, but not usually in gardens, just along the wayside.
I have put a close up of the leaves unfolding as my extra, and a lovely rainbow, which was a great surprise following some pretty intense mixed weather all Saturday.
I have added a lovely capture of Corey and Tyler , my Grandsons.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.