Ikimasho!

By Hayls

Swimming goodies

I have a charity shop addiction, pure and simple.

These brand new swimming goodies are my latest purchase.

My children are usually with me when I go charity shop hunting. This has led them to develop a rather skewed impression of money and what it can buy you.

First, they believe every day is their birthday - I always comes away from a charity shop with something for them, a book at the very least.

Second - they believe pretty much everything costs 99p.

Third, and perhaps the most advantageous for me and hubby - they're appalled at the prices they see in proper shops that sell stuff in pristine packaging, untouched by other children's grubby mitts. A recent trip to the gift shop at the National Museum of Scotland caused eldest to exclaim "Mum, now I know what robbery is!"

Is this a good thing or a bad thing? I'm yet to decide. The wanton pressie buying by me is definitely bad. The skewed perception of what things cost is probably not in their best interests. The look of horror on their faces when they go in expensive toy shops - I can live with that.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.