Caught!

This baby deer was found caught in a fence at the bottom of our garden this morning.

What to do?

If I tried to free it would its mother reject it because of human scent?

It looked so still and tiny that at first I thought it was dead until I noticed a faint twitching of its nose.

So I rung the SSPCA ( Scottish Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals).
Yes it would be OK to free it, they said, and suggested we monitor it for the next couple of hours and if there was a problem to call them back.

Fine. By the time I got to the bottom of the garden again it had freed itself and was just lying there absolutley still.

It looked so tiny and fragile that I sensed another danger. Taz. He has caught rabbits not that much smaller than this helpless creature and it was not even moving.... a sitting target.

Well, a frantic search found him sunning himself under a hedge. So he got locked indoors this afternoon while we were out.  By the time we got back the baby deer had gone.
Phew!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.