Life's Journey

By AndrewFyfe

Bray Lock, River Thames

Dover - Shetlands Day 3

Distance today: 68.6km
Distance total: 271.2km
Ascent today: 133m
Ascent total: 1967m

Highlight: arriving at Lensbury Club in Teddington just in time to see Scotland beat South Africa 27-26 in the final of the last round of this year's World 7s Series in Lindon, with two tries in final 40 seconds. On the road it was the unexpected ferry across the river at Shepperton for only bikes and pedestrians. Worth the £3 to get me onto the off road riverside cycle path to Hampton.

Lowlight: losing my sunglasses in one of the two trains needed to get the 10miles from Slough to Staines. Perhaps I should have cycled, even though I was simply using the train to return to my day's start point, after re-visiting various places in the Thames from whence my parents came.

What else? A fairly short day in comparison to my first two, with quite a bit of 'sight seeing' tracking down some childhood haunts whilst visiting grandparents. A fairly early finish of around 5pm, when I decided to spontaneously check into the Lensbury after the famous Scotland win. Overall on track with progress against my outline plan for the trip. Need to make it well into Essex tomorrow.

Photo: with much of the day spent alongside the river, I thought this sunmed it up with this most English of scenes at Bray Lock.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.