Borough Market

I'm just back from a wonderful weekend with Anna.  We took the train from Manchester to London to be with my cousin, Bridget Prentice, as she was admitted as an Honorary Freewoman of the London Borough of Lewisham.  This has only been awarded 13 times, there are more women than men (7-6) and amongst them is the Most Rev. Desmond Tutu and the mother of the late Stephen Lawrence, Baroness Lawrence of Clarendon OBE.  I've put the list on the wall (it was hard to photograph) as an extra so you can see who else is there - if you're interested.  I don't really want to talk about politics on this site but I will say Bridget was a conscientious MP for 20 years in the Blair and Brown governments.  I didn't always like some of the decisions she made but I have always felt very proud of her and her commitment to social justice.  She is a product of a good old working class education.  Anna and I had a good time at Borough Market, every type of food and drink available and I was surprised that it wasn't as expensive as I'd expected.  I've also added an extra of my perspective of the shard.  I was travelling light so only had my little IXUS with me, it never lets me down.
I'll be backblipping to catch up after my very busy weekend.









 
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.