TexMama

By TexMama

Flowers

The weeds/grass have quickly invaded my new flower beds, so this weekend, while the ground is still wet enough to work, I'v been weeding, and adding compost & mulch.  
As soon as it dries out, this clay dirt we have goes rock hard and I can't even get a shovel in the ground so I have to work fast after it rains :0)  I'm adding some compost to try to improve the rock hard clay, but it probably would have been better if I had dug a whole lot into the soil before I planted - too impatient to see flowers :0)
Mr Tex and I took the truck and got 2 scoops of mulch yesterday, which is now in a large pile reminding me how much weeding and mulching I still have to do...The chickens  risked their lives  helped yesterday by pulling all the mulch back out when I went in for a snack, so I have locked them up in their coup today.

And I added a hydrangea to the front, this time I composted first so it should have good drainage - have always wanted one but didn't think they would grow here.  However I was talking to a neighbour a few weeks ago and she had just planted some so I decided to give it a try.  I bought it on sale so not a great loss if I kill it, but it will definitely be my most spoiled plant this summer - fingers crossed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.