Vanishing Point

I had an old fashioned art education and was taught things like perspective. I am glad. Once you know something you can choose to use it or not.
It's a tool.
I in my turn taught my kids about perspective and vanishing points. I like to think they can use it - or not.
This piece of work got me thinking about drawing and illustration and painting and fine art and the perceived differences between them.
I remember being interviewed for my Master's course by the head of FIne Art and her saying - with surprise in her voice, 'Well I see you can draw'.
It was my turn to be surprised later when chatting to the other hopefuls to hear some of them admit to not drawing, ever.
I'm out of sync it seems.
I am old fashioned.
I am old enough to realise that fashion is an ephemeral thing that changes.
Sometimes what I do will be popular and 'on trend'.
Sometimes it won't be.
I am happy not caring.
I love doing what I do.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.