Oldgroaners Phone&Compact

By Oldgroaner

Porthcurno my all time number one beach

Along with a small group of Friends on scooters, Pat and I first gazed in awe at this beach in July 1963.
You have to bear in mind that the sea around our area ranges from a muddy brown to a muddy browny green, so this was a complete shock!
Our friend Paul who comes from a religious family and never makes religious jokes was so astonished that he opened his arms, looked at the sky and to our surprise asked "When did I die?"
When he realised we had heard this he was acutely embarassed, and we all laughed...
The second image is a panoramic, which may not show well due to the wide format, and the third from near the top of the cliffs as I had made the climb up the steps to the Minak Theatre, thus proving that I still lack common sense, but then, I tend to the belief that if you haven't grown up by the time you are 72, you don't have to.
And I loved every moment doing it, so there!
Sadly this is the last day of our Holiday, tomorrow we make the first leg of our two day return trip to Yorkshire, though with luck I might get in an early morning ride before we set off, and with luck a blip.
I hope these images have captured something of our fondness for this beautiful country, and a week on Saturday we will be off again to Whitby this time!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.