Grateful Days

By Nickimags888

Tiny Tuesday - Common Blue & Green Hairstreak

Rik has this week off and as the forecast is looking pretty good we're going to try and get out and about as much as possible. We popped down to the Orchid Field to view the wild orchids that flower between May and July. I enjoyed seeing them and did try to photograph them but it was very breezy. I think it's going to be a challenge just like photographing bluebells and cherry blossoms. So I'll have to keep an eye on the weather and go down again when there's no wind and it's not bright sunshine either.

I stalked this male Common Blue butterfly for quite a while down there in a sheltered spot and managed to get a few shots I was happy with. It looked like new one as the blue colour was beautiful and it wasn't tatty at all.

We also saw quite a few Green Hairstreak butterflies (see extra) when we went out for a quick walk around Les Landes this afternoon. They are tinier (33mm compared to the blues at 35mm) and even more flighty so I was very pleased to capture this one on the gorse.

Thanks to Beckett for hosting Tiny Tuesday again this week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.