Orthopaedic Boot

Today, I visited Addenbrookes Hospital at just after 0900 hours and my left tendon was examined; this took quite a while and I had to wait some while for an ultrasound scan.  The scan showed that the tendon was torn with a two-centimetre gap between its ends, although a few fibres were still present on one side.  An orthopaedic boot was fitted and I was advised to return to the hospital in three weeks time so that a further ultra sound could be taken to see if it the fibres at the side are growing in.  If they are not then it is an operation on the tendon, the chance of this happening is about 75%.
 
During the past month, after damaging the tendon I visited my local GP three times, twice I was just told to rest it, but keep taking exercise, only on the third occasion was it correctly diagnosed; I am not best pleased.  From past experience, some fifty years ago, when I did a lot of judo I tore this tendon on a number of occasions and was very aware that I had torn it, but I could not proceed further without the GPs approval.

 

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.