Fisherman Against Sunset

Uyama Hiroto - Ribbon In The Sea

Waking up late, the sun broke through my curtains like an alarm clock. I was determined to make a day of it because these are my last few weeks here. I went to the local port to see a big warship from the 1930's which was beautiful. The area was made into a port park with many couples walking in the sun. Close by was a massive suspension bridge with glorious engineering magnificence. Even though I had very little sleep before, I was determined to explore and take real photos. I crossed the bridge through the wind tunnel in the late afternoon to see the view of Imizu. After crossing the bridge, I was met by many factories and long reeds of grass in immense fields. I saw light houses far off into the distance and knew I had to go there as the sun was setting down. I crossed the fences into unknown territory to get closer to the waters, but many groups of people had done so too, to live their passions and fish, watch the waves and enjoy life passing by. Everyone was deep in love and concentration. It was 20 minutes before the sun set, and I had walked to the end of the pier to meet the lighthouse. I sat there and watched the sun dip under the horizon and fall to sleep, twilight rose and the stars shone. For a brief moment, the sunlight and starlight played together as they switched guard. Walking back over the bridge, everything had illuminated, and what was there before had changed into something completely different. I never want to forget.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.