The Very Fabric

There's a Bike Message Challenge taking place in Dumfries just now Read about it here.. You have a card with 8 spaces on it and about 100 local businesses are ready to stamp it when you visit them by bike. Cafes, libraries, museums, chemists, and art galleries like this one - Cloud 9 in Irish Street.
Here is artist and gallery owner Julie Hollis stamping my card. Even if youre not a cyclist, it's worth popping in as she has  a great exhibition on  just now, called "The Very Fabric", which celebrates Dumfries.  As Julie says, "Pride in our community is the very fabric of society" and she has chosen to illustrate her theme through photography and textiles. I won't say any more - just go and see for yourself. (Or if you live too far away, look here - http://cloud9gallery.co.uk/the-gallery/exhibitions/exhibition.html . I even found a nice birthday gift while I was looking around - some beautiful glass by Grace Rogerson.

One thing I will say about cycling, though, is that unlike driving, you are not insulated from the world. I encountered violence on my way into college and on my way home today. The first was a buzzard with a baby bird in its beak, parent bird flying after it in alarm. The second was human violence and I reported it to the police, which made me late home.

Haven't decided on a suitable song for today yet, but will add it once I do.

OK ! Here it is...don't try this at home :-) https://youtu.be/Cj6ho1-G6tw

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.