If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

House Sparrows

I realise today's shot has no real photographic merit but it fits with what I want to record in my journal so you are stuck with it!

For most of the last 12 months House Sparrows have appeared in the garden/at the feeders only occasionally - one or two a week.  Suddenly we have (by our standards) masses.  Well a maximum at one view of 5 but more importantly there is almost always one in view when you look out into the garden.

We have had a 3 compartment "Sparrow Terrace" for a number of years and generally only one nest if we are lucky.  We can hear chicks so there is at least one occupied nest, I will find out how many at "back end" when I clean the boxes ready for next season.

The sudden increase in numbers isn't because of this years fledglings as they are all adults.  With House Sparrows being listed as Red in conservation status it is very pleasing.  Not only that but I happen to like the rich browns and contrasts of the male in particular.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.