Carey20August

By Carey20August

Day 147 Boris in Winchester

Today I wandered down into Winchester and stumbled over the farce that was Boris' visit to Winchester. Lots of razzmatazz, shouting, photographers and camera phones.  I liked the continuity of Boris, his supporters and hecklers, standing on the steps of Butter Cross, which has probably seen many noisy rabbles over the centuries.

As the date of the referendum gets closer normal people are getting increasing anxious about the lack of facts. These media circuses entertain the crowd and bond us in our enjoyment, but do nothing to increase our understanding.

Alas, I'd had a heavy morning so treated myself to a salted caramel ice cream. I now know that taking photos whilst holding an ice cream is quite a messy business. Fortunately the ice cream wiped off the camera and my glasses. In my next life I want to be elegant and sophisticated...

For those who are appalled by this photo, my extra shot is of some Canada goslings I saw later in the day. Much more peaceful

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.