Brody Bringing the Baton

Al and Shelley (Naturelover) invited Lisa and I out for the last junior-high track meet of the season. Their grandson Brody was running.

He ran 3 events. The 1600 meter, the 800 meter relay, and the 1600 meter relay.

I got quite a few good shots of him in the longer race, but the afternoon was hot (88F) and muggy, so all of the runners were struggling. A lot of shots with tongues wagging, and eyes closed. THAT'S TOO HOT TO RUN!!!

In this race, he was the leadoff man, and he was only going around the track once...400 meters. I like the fact that he is airborne, that he looks happy, and that he is wearing Cycle Fit socks (his dad's company.)

But...but...but...(that's 3 buts), this picture was taken right after Brody glanced over to his spectators...and waved. And, it wasn't just a wave, it was one of those beauty-queen-as-she-is-riding-in-the-back-of-a-convertible waves.


I told his grandpa Al (who was a high school track star) to have a few kind words with the boy young man about the wave, but he probably won't. I guess we'll attribute it to youthful exuberance...and we ALL like the exuberance of youth.

How can I get away with calling him a boy? I've known him since he was born...since he was a baby. To me, he'll always be a boy.

Great job boy, young man, Brody.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.