Lady Bellbird

Anthornis melanura, a New Zealand native.

A rather poor shot taken through a window. It is wet and cold out today. The poor bellbird was reduced to eating the apple I put out out for the waxeyes. She prefers the Coprosma berries, but they have failed. My two big bushes have plenty of fruit that ripen a few at a time, providing an endless supply over the winter, but last month's cold snap killed them all off. They have withered and fallen to the ground. She appreciates the honey water I put out for her.

The apples I put out are more popular than usual. Those of you who visualise me banging nails through the apples might be disappointed to learn that the nails are permanent and I push the apples onto them.

The female bellbird has lovely brown eyes, but the male's are red. This female has quite a large territory. I know she visits gardens at least a kilometre away.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.