My first bird hide experience

Funny looking bird I hear you say. Well, it's a long story....

I was on my way to the airport to pick up LizEllen and had some spare time so I went looking for the bird hide we had been told about in Richmond.

Found it after a short walk. Very exciting to sit on the seats and poke my SX50 through the viewing hole. Bits of apples on sticks, a tui feeder, a running water affair- no birds. There were some other spots of colour too, very high up. I was thinking,  somebody used a ladder to get those apples up there. Then realised they were abutilon flowers. So that was blip done.

Just as I was about to leave a tui and a bellbird/korimako  visited. It was almost pitch black on the table so very grainy birds in extras.

I could see on a day when you had time to sit and a bit more light and if you took some food with you for the birds it would be an ideal place to spend some time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.