Between fen and mountains

By Tickytocky

Maud Foster mill

The Maud Foster Windmill is a seven-storey five sail windmill located by the Maud Foster drain in Skirbeck, Boston from which it is named. It is one of the largest operating windmills in England being 80 feet (24.38 m) tall to the cap ball.
The tower mill and adjoining granary is grade I listed building. The mill was built in 1819 for Isaac and Thomas Reckitt of Wainfleet. It was repaired and restored in 1988.
I visited the mill this morning to buy 3 x 6kg bags of organic white, wholemeal and four grain malted flour.  It was only after I had ordered it that I wondered about the shelf life.  I understand that it is best used within three months and certainly within six.  It can be frozen apparently.  It looks like I will be baking and eating a lot of bread!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.