Thoughts of a Mummy

By Jaxndm

Royal Basagna

Today is the day of P's operation. P is a Princess as her operation at The Royal (whereas Mummy just went to the General hospital).

In an attempt to put P's mind at ease about her operation, we tried to show her how it would be for her when I was in hospital. I showed her the menu and that you can have Basagna (Lasagna to others) for dinner.

So when we got to the hospital this morning, it was a fairly familiar environment to her. The hospital staff were absolutely wonderful with P; they spoke directly to her, answering any questions she may have and making sure she was happy with everything she was being told.

We gave P the option to choose who she wanted to take her to the operating theatre. I'll be completely honest, as much as I knew she would want her Daddy, I was desperate for her to ask for me, but also relieved that she didn't. Do I really want to watch one of my babies being put to sleep for an operation? I know I would have been an absolute wreck!

As it was, P chose her Daddy to take her to the theatre and together they proudly walked with P wearing her Chewbacca mask. They went to the operating theatre just after 9am and a little after 10am Peach was called upon to collect her from the operating theatre.

P was such a good girl; back on the ward she had two slices of toast and was discharged by noon. I'm so proud of how well she has handled herself today, especially when the numbing cream didn't work and she felt the cannula being put in the back of her hand.

It was heartbreaking to see how upset R was this morning when we left. She really didn't want P to go, and was literally curled up in a ball on the floor sobbing. When asked to say bye to P, R hugged P and wouldn't let go, she was sobbing.

When the girls got home from school, they were genuinely happy to see P and all came in to gently give her a kiss and cuddle. R & DM both had activities to go to after dinner, but neither of them wanted to go because they wanted to stay with P. It's times like that when I love to see the loving connection the girls have between them -
I truly do hope it lasts a lifetime.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.