Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Caterpillar macro

Well, what a terrible blip day. Only ten shots to choose from and if I am perfectly honest, most of them belong in the bin. Do I sound like a spoilt brat or what! I was nearly reduced to looking for another little boy fishing, LOL.

I decided to go with this caterpillar macro, as the orange head drew me in to photograph it. I have photographed this caterpillar many times, even blipped it a couple of times. I just flipped back through my stock and noticed about half have a black head, the rest orange, so I am guessing that this is a male/female thing.

I thought that the mottled orange pattern was interesting, only visible on the screen, my eyesight is just not good enough to have noticed this live. The farmers must hate this bug, as it sits at the end of the rice plant and chews away, rendering that stem redundant from a rice production point of view.

Some of the rice paddies have been drained and other crops grown, such as lettuce. These take a lot more attention, such as manually watering with a watering can, several times a day. Also, the lettuce crop was sprayed with a chemical yesterday and the farmer also sprayed the adjacent brush. This makes sense, as the insects move from the brush to the crops. But, he has just wiped out 50% of my blipping grounds. Altogether a depressing day.

I will put this day behind me and look forward to tomorrow.

Update - ref yesterday's folio. It looks like No5 gets the vote, I like that one too. I will change it tomorrow. Great response, many thanks.

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.