Never too big for a hug!

I started off walking round the loch on a cygnet hunt but there was no sign of any swans.  The coots were busy feeding their growing chicks, a heron was lurking in the reeds and the gulls were watching for they many pieces of bread some youngsters were throwing.

I had just completed my circuit and was thinking about going back to the car when I spotted, in the distance, a swan.  From where I was standing I had no idea if it was the male or the female and her wee family.  I'm no jogger but I did move rather quickly up to the far end of the loch where I found all five cygnets out for a little foraging with mum.  

On my way back to the car I walked past the gosling nursey area during their morning siesta.  All seems well there too .... I can relax now knowing that all the youngsters are safe and growing quickly.  Plenty of mallards on the loch but there are never any ducklings.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.