Rhinanthus minor

Last night after discovering I had a flat and more damage to my tyre than I really would like I ordered a pair of new tyres and paid extra to have them delivered today for my trip tomorrow. This morning I received the email to say they were en route and I kept checking the web site to see where they were, when suddenly it said that they have been returned to depot as no one was able to sign for them. After several phone calls I got through to some one and to say that I was livid was an understatement - what do they wan me to do sit by the front door waiting for their gentle knock for the whole delivery slot?

Today's blip is yellow rattle (Rhinanthus minor) growing in our wildflower lawn, plus some red clover and a mixed scene as extra. This afternoon when I wanted to be changing tyres I was instead cutting a path throw the lawn so you can get to the quince tree and a poppy patch on gravel...

I will be changing my inner tube come what may, as they tyre has gone down over night and was quite soft this morning. Emergency sticky patches are good enough to get you home, but are not a reliable permanent repair, some last very well, others last no time at all. Tomorrow expedition may be more complex than planned!

My EU referendum postal vote arrived today, so I've already voted, I just need to drop it in the post box now. I can now ignore the civil war from the Tory party for the next few weeks, while they argue like the spoilt children they are. By all indications whichever side wins the other side aren't going to accept the result and they plan to carry on the fighting each other like cats in a bag... I may be cynical but that does not make me wrong...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.