Tommy0161

By Tommy0161

King Street.....

I had a wander about the city this afternoon to take a few pictures. I have been spoiled for choice. I did think of posting a picture of one of the finished artworks in the street art festival in the Northern Quarter.

Then I thought about a picture of one of the bands playing in Piccadilly Gardens. But I'm not sure if the world is ready for the Piccadilly Rats quite yet. At one one I was attracted to a band playing reggae music. The singer sounded so like Bob Marley, you'd have thought he was in the room. I was amazed when I got close to find the singer was a boy of about 16 and he was white. He was that good.

On King Street they were having a festival. The people behind Dig The City were behind it. Once the home of Manchester's most exclusive shops, it's struggled in the last few years as upmarket shops prefer places like New Cathedral Street. But of late it's got it's mojo back so this festival was designed to relaunch the street somewhat. Outside Liam (or is it Noel?) Gallagher's Pretty Green store opposite Jamie Oliver's restaurant, the Manchester Scooter Club had come to show off their amazing scooters. I liked this picture of a lady perched on a scooter carrying a Dior bag. Manchester summed up in one picture I thought.

I have relented. The extra picture is the Piccadilly Rats...not for the faint hearted....you have been warned!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.