DramaQueen

By DramaQueen

Bakewell Tart

I make no apologies for this blip....it had to be done!

We had a really nice ride to Bakewell today, the weather was just perfect for the bike; not too hot and a nice breeze.

Bakewell had been recommended to us by a colleague of Mr A's; she said she will live there one day, she loves it so much.
It reminded us of a cross between Hebden Bridge and Skipton, with all the little shops and I don't think we've ever seen so many dogs in one town!

We had lunch in The Old Original Bakewell Pudding shop; I never knew there was a Bakewell pudding, I've only ever had either a tart or a slice before, so I had to try it.
I was a bit underwhelmed if I'm honest, I should have stuck with the slice. Mr A doesn't like almonds so he had a huge wedge of toffee & ginger cake.

We had a little walk round the town after that, sitting a while on the riverbank watching the rainbow trout swimming about. There's a little bridge over the river, festooned with lovelocks - that's something to see!

As it was still early, Mr A thought we should have a ride on to Buxton. This is somewhere I've always wanted to visit (no idea why), so I was pleased with that.

We noticed that the roads in the Peak district are really well maintained; not a pothole in sight! It's obviously a popluar route for bikers too as we passed loads of them on the road; Mr A said he was sick of nodding!

Buxton was another quaint little town. We had a look round the shops before setting off home again.

If anyone is in the Accrington area tomorrow, there is an 'Urban Beach' party event on Warner Street. It's been promoted as a step back in time with all the fun of the seaside. We will be having a look at it before we go out for the afternoon. It runs from 12-5pm and there will be vintage style entertainment, fairground attractions, stalls, street food and much more.

Maybe see you there?!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.