Glanville fritillary

I had a really wonderful day today visiting a re-introduction site for the very beautiful Glanville fritillary Melitara cinxia, near Croydon.
I have photographed these cheeky little butterflies before in 2012 at Ventnor on the Isle of Wight but to be able to photograph them again, and so close to where I live was amazing!
The Glanville fritillary takes it's name from Lady Eleanor Glanville a C17 Lepidopterist who discovered it in Lincolnshire.
It lives in discrete colonies with little interchange between them and today can only be found in a couple of places in the south of England.
I have added a further shot in my extras as it is so beautiful, and a shot of the equally lovely St Peter and St Paul church in Nutfield  near Godstone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.