Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

A battle to be waged

Every morning I go out to my little haybale garden and check out my veggies.  I have been eating some potatoes and have three green bell pepper that I will cut up for stir fry.  The squash has been struggling.  I have fertilized, picked off the little first squash and today, this happened.  Snails!  I love snails so I really don't want to kill them.  So I picked this squash off and moved it and 2 other snails to a place far, far away on the other side of the yard.  So we will see what happens now.

The good news is the Purple Cherokee tomatoes are turning to the wonderful reddish, orangey and soon purple color so eating them soon. The other tomatoes, a better boy and some other kind that I can't remember the name are coming along also but not anywhere like the purple cherokee.  A photo of a cluster of them in the extras along with a cucumber that might get eaten tomorrow.

I have been learning much with this garden.  Time will tell if I ever do it again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.