HelenJG

By HelenJG

Early Purple Orchid

Still catching up with back blips! I spent today out and about the in Peak District using up my employee learning scheme money with a professional photographer. Early on we were going to photograph red starts, they had other ideas as despite singing beautifully for us they weren't coming anywhere near. As we headed down to another part the valley these Early Purple orchids caught my eye with the sunlight sparkling off the early morning dew. Macro photography with a 500mm lens plus teleconverter plus extension tubes really isn't for the feint hearted, these were some of my better efforts. (Yes I know I should have had a smaller lens with me, but I was trying to travel light!)

We had some fun with Willow Warblers, played spot the Garden Warbler (Again they weren't in favour of the arrival of the paparazzi) and rounded off the day on the moors to try and photograph Whinchats and Ringed Ouzels. It was a challenging day at times, wildlife photography always is, but I learnt the names and songs of some new species of birds and managed a few respectable shots too.

Hope you had a good day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.