Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

Vivid Part 1

I rushed down to Sydney after work.  Dropped the hounds off at mums and then parked at Wollstonecraft and got the train.  I got off at Wynyard and had not even made it to the next platform when I got a call.  The woman was hard to hear over the noise but it turned out I had left my opal card on the train and she had picked it up.  I then boarded a train in the opposite direction and went to Town Hall and retrieved it.  How nice was she.  She sent me such a sweet text telling me to keep it safe.  Lots of good karma coming her way.

The crowds were not too bad I found and I enjoyed the new installations at the Botanic gardens.   From there it was back to the Quay and Customs House, always a good show.  Then onto the MCA and just when I was getting into the Opera House with a moon rise behind it they turned the lights off.  WOT?????  The lights go off at 11 pm this year.  Hurrrrrrumph!!!!  I will just have to come back tomorrow.

The Opera House this year has some fantastic aboriginal art projected onto it.  The figure is Wandjina.  A spirit from the Northern Kimberley region and would be my favourite subject of Aboriginal art.  I bought a Wandjina painting many years ago from a gallery in Broome and it always reminds me of the Kimberley.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.