Corner shop

I love the view of this old shop, mainly due to the many signs that have been added over the years - it really is quite a spectacle. 

I remember this shop being open when I was young but my guess is it's been closed for 25 years plus. 

I got to thinking that, in the early 1900s when new streets were being built, corner shops must have been built in to the design. This one is the only retail unit in a very nice residential area. I suppose in those days the corner shop was the only shop around so it would make sense to build these businesses right into the infrastructure of an area. 

My own street still has an active corner shop built right into the last house in the street - I've blipped it before.

How times change :(

Weather: blue sky and sun; 19 degrees c; tshirt weather; superb summer's day - perfect bank holiday 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.