stuff & nonsense

By sleepyhead

Timeless - The Well Trodden Path

Today started with a trip to Kirkwall to meet up with HappyValley, Porridge, Freespiral, Himself, Houseonahill6 and M. What do you call a group of blippers, I wonder... A shutter?

We had just finished teas, coffees and cakes (and a cheeky little Bundaberg for me) when the skirl of the pipes announced the start of the rehearsal for tomorrow's commemoration marking the centennial of the Battle of Jutland. The Kirkwall City Pipe Band were followed by the Band of the Royal Marines playing "A Life On The Ocean Wave". I must admit, I love a good marching tune and to see the band and Royal Navy Honour Guard with rifles and fixed bayonets come down the street to take up position in front of St. Magnus Cathedral was fantastic. I'm not sure what the slow piece was they played for the dignitary stand ins shuffling into place but soon they were regaling us with God Save the Queen and Deutschlandlied. Some fussing about as the party moved inside the cathedral before they all marched out again to a soft drum beat.

Saying goodbye to our fellow blippers, Gitama and I turned our attention to the Ayre Road and a bit of prezzie shopping. We did surprisingly well, with only a few more bits and bobs left to get. Happy Days! We also decided on a big lunch and small (so far non-existent - I'm stuffed) dinner after which, fully recharged, we headed back up the road to do the same with the camera batteries.  We decided on a drive down the road to the Brough Of Birsay for a wee wander around the shoreline before our trip out tomorrow for a spot of Puffin hunting. The grey covering that only threatened to leave us all day (in spite of the weather predictions showing a big bright sun all day) was perfect for some shots of the Brough. I even managed to capture a couple of different ways to catch your tea. Been ages since I'd seen anyone with a net down by the seaside.

On our way back up the road we stopped off at the Earl's Palace in Birsay. Alas, time has not been kinds to it and the flat grey light that worked so well down at the beach played havoc here. I took a wander through St. Magnus Church to a path that lead to the sea and saw this wonderful wee stone hut, set off nicely by the path and a barbed wire fence with the church in the background. Had to be blipped, although it was a tight battle with K10.

We stopped in at the Yellowbird Gallery which is right opposite the house, for a look see. Some lovely art there, along with some very lovely prices. I picked up a couple of wee things but I might go back before we leave to see if something catches my eye for the flat.

Gitama is typing feverishly across the lounge from me so I will post the link to her view on the day here soon.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.