Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

The difference in color

I picked 4 purple Cherokee tomatoes this morning.  We ate one but it could have been a little riper.  So I put the others on the window sill above the sink to finish up that ripening. 

  But for those of you that have never seen a purple Cherokee, I took this photo of the last red tomato from the market beside one of them.   You can see it is a deeper red shade and will eventually be very dark reddish/purple.

I am just glad that they finally got close to being ripe.  I hate to admit I was so very impatient which is not normally my mode of operating!  Now I just have to wait a few more days for them to be really ripe....and hopefully by then, the others on the vine will be ready for picking! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.