My alternative diary

By chrisphoto

Village Grand Fete & Dog Show

I’ve realised that I have now joined the ranks of “Grumpy Old Men”. We had our Village Fete today. It focused around a Dog Show and there were lots of attractions and stalls most of which were commercial operations. Not like it used to be.
I was involved for 20 years or so and it really was a village affair – very little was imported. The exception were things like the Battle of Britain Fly Past, Parachute Regiment floating in and the inter pub tug-of-war competition. Most of the other attractions were mounted by local people. The hog roast of yesteryear was replaced by a burger and hot dog thing. Anyway enough of my grumpy rantings – things move on and the folk there seemed to be enjoying themselves.

My blip for the day is Terry, a long haired Jack Russell cross with a Staffordshire Bull Terrier and a rescue dog aged 3 years. He was so laid back and chilled and I photographed him after he had won his class. All ten class winners were entered into the last Class to choose Best in Show. It turned out to be Terry – he appeared to be quite pleased. My extra for today is the Stilt Walker looking as though she was trying to calm down a visitor to the Fete.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.