Holy antenna

One of my favourite songs by one of my favourite bands is called Antenna ("Antena" in portuguese). Instead of only sharing the music here, I decided to also translate the lyrics to english.

People think it's an easy task, converting something from one language to another, but some friends of mine work as translators, so I know that (if you want to do it *well*) it's not so simple. Translating this song, with relatively short but not particulary clear lyrics, wasn't complicated, but as expected, some words presented difficult decisions.

Here it is then...

"Antena", by A Naifa.

Oh my benvolent homeland,
if I could drink you,
pacify, make war,
sit you at a table and write,
sit you at a table and write.

Oh my benvolent homeland of plows,
of slow and hot afternoons
and light that shows stationary
incandescent herds,
incandescent herds.

When I go by on car,
I forget where I live in
because I am my own immobile home.

Oh my benvolent homeland,
if I could drink you,
pacify, make war,
sit you at the table and write,
sit you at the table and write.

The radio always playing,
a damaged heart
that I cannot turn off.

When I go by on car,
I forget where I live in
because I am my own immobile home.

The radio always playing,
a damaged heart
that I cannot turn off,
that I cannot turn off.


...

EDIT: what a coincidence, exactly one year ago I blipped another cross, this one made with twigs!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.