Decimal Dozen

About 10 days ago came to the conclusion that we had to buy some goslings and end our goose's five week+ long fruitless brood. Events of the last two days only slightly changed the plan.

Set off to Buchloe and gthe weekly small animal breeders society weekly market - no cats, dogs etc but only rabbits and birds, mainly pigeons, chickens, quail, ducks and geese. By the time I got there at about 9:00 it seemed to be almost over. The big poultry dealer had no more white geese but just 11 greys about a week old. So parted with 90 Euros for the 11.

Dropped by at the Jeep dealer and popped, in the letterbox, a set of pliers the mechanic had left in the car after the service last Wednesday. When I spotted them, I sent an e.mail asking them to inform the young mechanic (whose name I had, left on the card saying "I am John Doe and serviced your car") that I would return them when next in Buchloe. I suspect most people would simply keep the tools but I know they are expensive and from the photo on the card, the mechanic was clearly quite young. Have to say I was a bit disappointed the service people didn't acknowledge my email and indeed now several days later, didn't thank me for returning them. Last Wednesday, I met the owner of the dealership, a wonderful guy who I thought must have retired and left the children to run the two Jeep franchises. However he is still going strong and still doing deals in anything that could make money involved with wheels. I had asked him about a tractor and within 3 seconds he had convinced me he had THE tractor for me and 10 seconds later I was sitting in it! The guy is amazing, he makes you really feel like a King . I think he would be dismayed if he heard my tale of the pliers.

Back home put the 11 straight out on grass. They loved it, never having seen the stuff. Then got our one day old fella and introduced him - as wobbly as he was on his feet, he joined in and was quite cheeky. Although much smaller and the first to lay down for a rest and sleep, he was fully integrated and from there on in was no longer impressed by my calls.

Have decided to give the 12 a time to adjust separated from the adult geese. Will see when we put them together. Would like a period of good weather as I'm not convinced ghe young mum yet knows how to raise young.

As some may have seen on TV, late this afternoon the heavens opned and storms started. I don't remember hearing thunder last literally 3 minutes without a split second pause. Pulled out all our plugs and sensitive equipment. Got the goslings indoors for the night. On Monday was quite amazed at the scenes shown on TV of villages not far from here. Luckily we had no significant problems or flooding

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.