knit 1 girl 1

By knit1girl1

New workspace

This is my new, and still to have bits and pieces put back in it, workspace.
I'm really happy with how it's looking so far, probably as the clutter is hidden in the corner out of shot. It means though that I can now have my table loom permanently up on the desk in the window. I've even got space to do artwork for my sketchbooks here too. And I've got great access to my floor loom as well.
It also means that my iMac is still central to it all so I can use it for planning my weaving and recording my projects on it, share any photos of it online, and also easily keep in touch with my fellow students on my HNC, as well as everyone else.
It's made me think that I really wouldn't be where I am today, studying weaving as part of an HNC if I hadn't had the internet, as I wouldn't have found Ravelry where I developed my knitting. This then lead me to getting into weaving as a means of shrinking my stash (weirdly this hasn't worked as my stash seems to be growing). Then I got more looms through online sales. Then the spinning wheel came. And of course met lots of lovely people through forums and then in real-life too. And now I'm on a course that I heard through Twitter at Easter and studying weaving to try and get my business off the ground (which has an online presence too).
Don't get me wrong, the real world is a great place and I love it. But the online world has such an influence on my life that it'd be strange to live without it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.