Tiny happiness

I find funded exchange or study/work abroad programmes are often commercially misleading as they often reduce the importance of language intake ('not required', 'unnecessary', 'not essential', etc.) before students travel. 

This sounds encouraging but it actually distracts students' attention to Good preparation. Foreign language and cultural awareness are an essential link in the process. Although such programmes claim that there will be intensive courses for beginners on arrival, early birds can always take advantage. 

I was contacted to support a cohort of students going to China for a 4-week programme a week ago. I suggested offering a one-hour session which can lead to an online self-paced taster course. However, in the end I was advised to take only a 10-15 minute slot. I was told that there are many important talks to be slotted in and that's the best they can do.

Well, I spent almost two days researching and developing slides. It's now highly compacted as a tiny capsule - not a panacea, definitely not.

Glad to have my lunch outside in the garden with lovely blossoms and birds.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.