Lookabootye

By hcalibrarian

Braid Burn Valley

I visited the University apiary this afternoon to check on my hive. All doing well - lots of healthy bees with plenty of stores (honey and pollen), eggs and grubs (wee bees in waiting) and of course, the queen.

When I arrived I noticed a swarm of bees had attached themselves to the sycamore tree just above the bee hut. Faye told me she saw the swarm leaving one of another beekeeper's hives when she was at the apiary at lunchtime. That must have been quite a sight. Unfortunately, the swarm was too high up in the tree to be retrieved, so they could be anywhere now.

I cycled home along the Braid Burn, passing a number of very nice parks along the way: the Hermitage, Braid Burn Valley, Colinton Mains Park and finally, Redford Wood - an almost traffic-free way home. Here's a blip from Braid Burn Valley, looking towards the Pentland Hills.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.