Ready or not

The call after counting to whatever had been agreed was "Coming, ready or not". I believe it still is the warning issued by whoever is "It".

This morning as I drove to work over the Harbour Bridge, it was as if the sky over the outer Waitemata Harbour was telling me that it was once more suffused with beautiful pastel colours, whether or not I could stop to take a photo. I couldn't stop, of course. I would have been rear-ended at worst and abused soundly at best had I tried to.

As I went to check out the availability of parks in the small staff carpark behind the main hospital block, I saw the kayakers on the lake heading towards the northern shore, where they would turn to paddle back, across the sunlit lake. I wasn't ready to record their passage, as taking the one remaining park took longer than I had anticipated.

Behind both of those warnings lay the sun. Our own star in the universe. When I got to the lake edge, the sun was still issuing it's challenge, emphasising it with the crepuscular rays (broad enough to warrant being called beams). I was ready when the sun emerged from behind the clouds. 

After due consideration, I chose this photo over the one of the emerging sun.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.