Hopeton01

By Hopeton01

Mini Firs + Name Challenge!

This was taken at Harlestone Firs. We're lucky to have some fine fir trees nearby (courtesy of the Althorp Estate owned Earl Spencer/ Earl Althorp.)  The 300+ acres are enjoyed by cyclists, walkers and dogs alike!

An aside: as a native speaker of this language and having studied Linguistics at post-grad level, I have total respect for anyone that learns and masters English from scratch; how or why 'Althorp' came to be pronounced "Al-'thr -op" is beyond me. I know each language has its own degree of difficulty yet the huge number of exceptions in our language - compared to say, German - make it seem to me a very curious language indeed! 

While I'm on this, a little challenge for any Blippers that enjoy
linguistic conundrums: do you know the official pronunciation of this traditional English name?  'Featherstonehaugh'   
(I'll put up the answer on Friday, 3rd.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.