wrperry

By wrperry

New Bird Sightings

Today I went back to a nature trail that I haven't visited in weeks, known as Blue Mash.  I was discouraged the last time I went because there weren't many birds, and the maintenance crew had mowed many of the meadow areas.  This morning the trees were noisy with bird song, but many were too far away to photograph.  I decided to be patient and bide my time by taking photos of insects.  Although I didn't come away with hundreds of pictures, I did catch two bird species I had never seen (or at least noticed) before.  One was the Eastern Towhee.  It was beautiful, but the photo was too noisy.  Then I saw this bird sitting next to its nest in a tree.  At first I thought it was a sparrow, but after looking it up, I think it's an Eastern Wood-Pewee.  If I'm right, the orange lower bill was the identifying characteristic.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.