LomondLad

By LomondLad

Time marches on

What's the saying? - 'today is the first day of the rest of your life!'

Yesterday was my last day at work after nearly 36 years with the same company (although it's gone through several incarnations and I've gone through several different roles there).
I've had since January to get used to the idea of redundancy so when the laptop went back last week and the BlackBerry & ID card went back yesterday it wasn't as strange as it might have been. 
So planning on having the summer off before finding something new - hopefully the weather stays like this for the next few months (unlikely, I know).
So no emails, teleconferences or phone calls today (except the ubiquitous automated telesales ones - why do they keep calling when you register not to get them, and choose the 'don't call me again' options when they do?). And it was great.
Went to Helensburgh this afternoon for an ice cream from Dino's (the best in the world) and a walk along the front. I think it's going to be a good summer.

[They didn't really give me a gold watch (does that still happen anywhere?); this one belonged to my great-grandfather]

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.